Friday, January 16, 2004

January 16, 2004 @ Glorietta Activity Center (Makati City)

Shell opted to pick Ateneo forward Rich Alvarez No. 1 overall in the PBA Rookie Draft at the Glorietta in Makati last night following a last day deal for a big man from another team. As in last year's draft, Shell struck a three-way trade transaction hours before the event with sister teams Purefoods and San Miguel Beer, bringing in big man Billy Mamaril. The Turbochargers first acquired the Beermen's No. 7 pick in the draft in exchange for pointguard Dale Singson. The Pilipinas Shell franchise then dealt the pick plus forward Eddie Laure to Purefoods for Mamaril.

Solving its problem at the center slot but creating a vacuum at the forward spot, Shell exercised its rights on the No. 1 pick on Alvarez over other top draftees Ranidel de Ocampo, Joachim Thoss, Jean Marc Pingris and Ervin Sotto.

As part of the trade deal, Shell passed up on James Yap, allowing Purefoods to enlist the King Warrior of the University of the East at No. 2.

"Happy ako dahil sa Purefoods ko talaga gustong mapunta," said Yap for his part.

Several other negotiations involving draft rights were made but only the Shell-Purefoods-San Miguel deal materialized. John Arigo's name was mentioned in a number of trade talks.

Pingris, De Ocampo and Thoss, as expected, made it to the Magic Five. Pingris (No. 3) and De Ocampo (No. 4) went to FedEx and Thoss (No. 5) to Alaska Milk.

The second half of the first round saw Fil-Am guard Denver Lopez (No. 6) going to Red Bull, Ervin Sotto (No. 7) to Purefoods, Mark Omolon (No. 8) to Sta. Lucia Realty, Wesley Gonzales (No. 9) to FedEx and Gary David (No. 10) to Coca-Cola.

Paul Artadi joined UE teammate Yap at Purefoods as the 5-foot-9 guard was picked No. 1 in the second round and No. 11 overall by the Hotdogs.


1) Shell - Rich Alvarez (Ateneo de Manila)
2) Purefoods - James Yap (University of the East)
3) FedEx - Jean Marc Pingris (PSBA)
4) FedEx - Ranidel de Ocampo (St. Francis of Assisi)
5) Alaska - Joachim Thoss (James Cook)
6) Red Bull - Denver Lopez (CSU Fullerton)
7) Purefoods (via Shell from San Miguel) - Ervin Sotto (St. Francis Assisi)
8) Sta. Lucia - Nelbert Omolon (Philippine Christian University)
9) FedEx - Wesley Gonzales (Ateneo de Manila)
10) Coca-Cola - Gary David (Lyceum)


11) Purefoods - Paul Artadi (University of the East)
12) Shell Turbo - Carlo Sharma (De La Salle University)
13) Sta. Lucia - Kim Valenzuela (Cuyamaca)
14) Talk N Text - Niño Gelig (University of Santo Tomas)
15) Alaska - Willy Wilson (De La Salle University)
16) Red Bull - Francis Mercado (San Beda College)
17) Sta. Lucia - Ronald Cuan (De La Salle Univesity)
18) Talk N Text - Christopher Guerrero (University of Southern Philippines)
19) Coca-Cola - Manny Ramos (De La Salle University)


20) Brgy Ginebra - Theodore Hawkins (Cosamnes)
21) FedEx - Manuel Huelar (University of San Jose Recoletos)
22) FedEx - Bernzon Franco (Philippine Christian University)
23) Talk N Text - Epok Quimpo (Ateneo de Manila)
24) Coca-Cola - Rhagnee Sinco (Far Eastern University)


25) FedEx - Niño Bien Marquez (Philippine Maritime Institute)
26) Alaska - Eric dela Cuesta (Asian College of Science and Technology)
27) Coca-Cola - Warren Ybañez (University of Santo Tomas)


Nurjamjam Alfad (San Sebastian)
Francis Arabit (Letran)
Julius Binuya (San Beda)
Arnold Booker (University of the East)
Joselito Celiz (Southwestern University)
Tristan Codamon (Adamson)
Jay-R Estrada (University of the East)
Nicholas Joseph Fasano (Mesa Junior College)
John Flores (St. Francis of Assisi)
Lou Gatumbato (St. Benilde)
Arvin Garcia (San Antonio College)
Joel Lagare (San Sebastian University)
Lyndon Lagat (Devry Institute of Technology)
Jessie Lumantas (Southwestern University)
Steve Marucot (Mapua Institue of Techonolgy)
Alvin Pua (San Sebastian University)
Mario Reyes (Manuel L. Quezon University)
Richard Michael (University of Sydney)
Rommel Sungcap (Luzon Colleges)